The Yoga Themepark : Rishikesh

Rishikesh titles itself  ‘The yoga capital of the world’. No more – no less. This seemed like the perfect place for me to come to get to know the magic world of yoga and get accustomed to travel the country of billions on my own. Rishikesh is different from everything else I have experienced in India so far. In many ways the town resembles a theme park, similar to Walt Disney World in Florida. The atmosphere is different, the menus are different, the people is different. Sure, the cows are still eating plastic wrapped cookies, and the sadhus bathe in the Ganga. I´m not saying this thempark is not in India. But the otherwise unavoidable crowds are nowhere to be seen. There are more pasta and hummus dishes to chose from than Indian curries. Here I feel that I can safely walk around after dark.

In Rishikesh there are Yoga Ashrams on every corner.
Between the yoga ashram there are yoga shops.
In the shops you can get yoga trousers, yoga mats, yoga meditation music, yoga books and curious yoga equipment of various sorts.

In this yoga town, this yoga theme park, I have learnt that yoga is not just yoga. Yoga is a lifestyle, yoga is a religion.  Here, yoga is more than stretching, breathing, meditating. The philosophy of yoga is that the universe is all one big system and everything we do affects our physical body.
Our teachers preach for vegitarianism, or veganism, daily. We get lectures on materialism. And healing. And yesterday I decided to follow there advice and saw an Ayurvedic Doctor.

But Yoga is not as innocent as it seems for the uneducated eye, as myself. Yoga also means (I advice sensitive people to skip the rest of this paragraph) … pouring water up your nose every morning –  drinking your own urine –  drinking liters and liters of water before jumping up and down and through it up again … or getting it out from the other side – ect. ect. ect.

All of this is very appealing to me. I believe that this is what the modern world needs.The so called ‘developed contries’ can learn alot for the ancient Indian yoga and ayurveda science. Im not saying that I will do all of this on a daily bases. You can relax, I will not be offering you warm urin instead of the normal chai when you come over. But this is what I hoped to find in my jurney to India. This brings us closer to nature, closer to humanity.

There is no need for wealth,  modern medicine should not be used for every aliment we have. Better yet, we should  be able to live much healthier lifestyles than we do up in the wild wild west.